29 December 1916

It is very late & I am somewhat weary, but have got sufficient energy to scribble a letter, so will go on until I go to sleep.   It is pouring with rain, which it has done most of the day, most of last night & most of yesterday – & consequently everything is flooded.   One cannot see more than a few hundred yards even at midday so it is not much use my going observing – in fact my job is my no means lively just at present.    Yesterday & the day before were spent very largely in making the final arrangements for the Boxing.  The Divisional Competition was held yesterday afternoon & we had to find a competitor in each class for the Brigade. Our middle weight was scratched at the last minute, but our other three all put up a good fight, & we won the light weights with a ruffian named O’Shaunessy of my Regt. He had been promised leave if he won & did not intend making any mistake about it. He went for all he was worth & polished off his opponent in about thirty five seconds.

Today I have had a very lengthy motor-ride. I had to attend a lecture at a place some forty five miles from here & we left at 3 o’clock, not getting back here until just after nine.   It was a very wet performance but the lecture was well worth it. It concerned the growth of the army, its administration, advantages & limitation, & was very interesting.   The lecturer was a General from G.H.Q. of the name of Stewart.     Tomorrow or the day after, I am not quite certain which, Adkin the History Professor is again lecturing: this time he will be somewhere in our neighbourhood & I am going to hear him.  He was the fellow I drove over to hear once before – sometime in September if I remember right. One really sad thing is happening.  Godsal has got promoted – he has been given a General Staff job with another Division & is leaving tomorrow. It is good for him but a great pity. I have got very fond of him, & I rather regard him as a model soldier. I certainly have learnt more about soldiering from him than from anybody else I have ever met.   He is a most cheery person & the Mess without him will be even more gloomy than it has been of late.

We ate the plum pudding the night before last – it was gigantic & excellent.   The Brigadier struck the shilling first go off & was fearfully pleased with himself about it.    It really was a jolly good pudding so once more my thanks for it.   No time for more.

Leave a Reply

